Why not use Rainmeter to help with Bots?

Oneesann

Why not use Rainmeter to help with Bots?

Post by Oneesann »

I was thinking since NCsoft doesn't care to help or listen to the players, why not let the community take care of them? I am a programmer and was thinking about making a program to scan LFG and use filters to auto block and or /Silence the offender. Basically rainy.ws can manage what filters to scan for or use popular vote submissions. but there seems to be key icons or spellings of their websites that are fairly consistent. Since rainy already can scan the chat, why not add the feature since you guys are already halfway there? With as many players have rainmeter, the effectiveness should put a big hurt on the bot community.

Thinking aloud:

Scan for the keywords (check against rainmeter database) for: example: GOLDCEO, if also includes HEART HEART HEART then $match$ = %90 (have threshold/tollerance) if over said value, then auto /silence /block.

I have seen odd character/fonts used to simulate the "WWW" of a website. Dead givaway text for an auto silence (regular players shouldn't be doing that crap anyway)
admin
Site Admin

Re: Why not use Rainmeter to help with Bots?

Post by admin »

How would ARM block them though?
Oneesann

Post by Oneesann »

Filter LFG channel
When a key string "www" or GOLDCEO (can be updated with new strings weekly like standard virus definitions) is found, the client running Rainmeter will auto post in /3 "/Silence %n" where %n is the name of who triggered keyword.

Now with atleast 100 users (rough gess) using rainmeter at a time, if all 100 used the /silence <botname> at the same time, that bot is instantly silenced and can no longer whisper or post to LFG. When ever the silence feature wears off, the first 10 people to get the spam again would effectively re silence the offender. So basically LFG would just clear up over time since all bots are passively being silenced.
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »